Enabling / disabling instant messaging sitewide
The instant messaging system in the coaching hub is enabled by default. It may be disabled by contacting your Account Manager.
You can also arrange to what degree each type of message is enabled, and whether users are able to change these default settings in their profiles:
- Disallowed - the message of chosen type will never be delivered through the chosen output, user is not allowed to change the personal preference for this combination of message type and output.
- Permitted - the message of chosen type is allowed to be delivered through the chosen output, user can control this preference on the messaging preferences page (and change the suggested defaults the most preferable way).
- Forced - the message of chosen type will be delivered through the chosen output, user is not allowed to change the personal preference for this combination of message type and output.
You can arrange whether each of these will be sent when the user is online through the messaging system interface available to users in their profiles, and/or whether each output is sent via email.
List of message types
Except for Personal messages between users which refers to the interaction messaging tool on a user profile, the other messages are generated by events in the coaching hub.
User profile settings
Users can receive message alerts for a number of different reasons and can also send and receive instant messages. How a user receives notification of incoming messages can be set in Settings > My profile > Messaging.
This brings up a screen with check boxes where users can choose how they wish to be notified both when logged in and logged out. They can choose between a pop up or an email.
When a user is logged into the coaching hub, the message will pop up from the bottom right corner of the page. The user can choose to read the message immediately or to ignore it. If they choose to ignore it, the message returns until it is read.
Users cannot by default automatically choose to have notifications sent to a different email address from their official coaching hub email.
Prevent non-contacts from messaging me
Non-contacts can be prevented from sending messages by ticking this box in General Settings at the bottom of the screen.